login

Author Topic: Skeletal Horse  (Read 17973 times)

Offline Cartread

  • Craftsman
  • **
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Skeletal Horse
« on: June 30, 2007, 06:30:18 AM »
1st model thread in this forum? :-\ I'm all fancy-pantsy and stuff.



I made a skeleton human for M&B, so I figured I'd make the horse ::)...I don't have plans to use it in Hero & Blade.
The skeleton troop & skeletal horse can be used in any mod without asking my permission, but PMing me about how you'll use it would be nice.
You can download it from the repository here:
http://www.mbrepository.com/modules/PDdownloads/singlefile.php?cid=9&lid=482

The zip file contains a .brf with all meshes,materials,& textures, and 3 .dds' for a skeleton troop, skeleton horse, & partially transparent skeleton troop and horse.
No python lines or anything are included.  If you need help putting them in-game, post here or PM.





« Last Edit: June 30, 2007, 06:37:30 AM by Cartread »

Yoshiboy

  • Guest
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2007, 06:48:57 AM »
That looks brilliant! Nice job man.

Offline Ursca

  • Deus Vult Dev
  • *****
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2007, 07:58:12 AM »
Curses! Looks like I'll have to scrap mine then!  :P

Great job Cartread. Is it all right to use it in Warhammer Mod?  :)

Offline Ahadhran

  • Mysterious Old Man
  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2007, 09:48:56 AM »
Nice work! I would definitely like to use this in darkmod.

Offline Winter

  • I am Tek Jansen!
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 476
  • MBX Forum owner
    • View Profile
    • Street of Eyes: The Writing of Ryan A. Span
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2007, 06:32:23 PM »
Just a thought, but a version with some kind of saddle and reins might be handy for some modders.

Offline Cartread

  • Craftsman
  • **
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2007, 08:20:58 PM »
thanks Yoshiboy
Thanks Ursca and Ahadhran, I was hoping Darkmod and Warhammer Mod could use it.

I don't think reins are possible Winter (they wouldn't be animated), but I'll add a saddle.

Okay, added a simple saddle colored in BRFEdit and it's now part of the download.
:)
« Last Edit: June 30, 2007, 09:31:07 PM by Cartread »

Offline nema

  • Journeyman
  • ***
  • Posts: 272
  • ... what nema made was outside reality...
    • View Profile
    • Guardians party
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2007, 02:29:45 AM »
Congratulations. Nice work. :)
You always supprice me with interesting new ideas and practical solutions.  ;)

Elpolodiablo

  • Guest
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2007, 11:56:47 PM »
Can you give me some help on putting this in the game as a mount and character choice and a troop.

Offline Cartread

  • Craftsman
  • **
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2007, 01:44:56 PM »
Are you using the module system?  Are you just adding it to native or is it for a more specific purpose or mod?  Does "character choice" mean a selectable skeleton character from New game start-up?

Offline Ahadhran

  • Mysterious Old Man
  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2007, 02:03:00 PM »
in the same vein...I have been meaning to ask. Can the skeleton mesh be used for a player character class now?

 The last time I tried it, you would get a crash every time you viewed the face edit screen, but if you just avoided the face edit screen (didn't click the button in the character screen, and didn't assign the mesh to the player character until after character creation was finished) you could play as a skeleton fine.

Offline KON_Air

  • Craftsman
  • **
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2007, 03:45:56 PM »
Just import a new frame for it (export, import append the same mesh).

bryce

  • Guest
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2007, 03:53:18 PM »
That's awesome.

Offline Ahadhran

  • Mysterious Old Man
  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #12 on: July 17, 2007, 04:29:36 PM »
Just import a new frame for it (export, import append the same mesh).
?

I am not the one setting up the meshes, I was asking if the ones Cartread has already made still cause crashes in the face edit screen. Since the meshes have already prepared by Cartread, there shouldn't need to be any messing around with frames.

Offline Cartread

  • Craftsman
  • **
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2007, 12:43:04 AM »
Thanks, bryce

in the same vein...I have been meaning to ask. Can the skeleton mesh be used for a player character class now?

 The last time I tried it, you would get a crash every time you viewed the face edit screen, but if you just avoided the face edit screen (didn't click the button in the character screen, and didn't assign the mesh to the player character until after character creation was finished) you could play as a skeleton fine.

Shoot, I forgot about that.  I haven't done anything with the skeletons in that area.  Thanks for reminding me, I'll post back here after I get that sorted out.

Offline Cartread

  • Craftsman
  • **
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
playable skeleton character
« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2007, 01:27:34 PM »
(sorry for double-post)

All right, on using the skeleton as a player character:

The skeleton_head in the download can be used (un-vertex-animated face is what caused it not to work previously).

module_skins:

  ("skeleton", 0,"skeleton", "skeleton_calf_L", "skeleton_handL","skeleton_head", man_face_keys,
    ["onepoly"], #man_hair_meshes
    [], #beard meshes
    ["hair_white"], #hair textures
    ["beard_white"], #beard_materials
    [("undeadface_a_skeleton",0xffffffff,[])], #face_textures
    [], #voice sounds
    "skel_human", 1.0,  ),

You must have man_face_keys and at least 1 hair_mesh, hair_texture, beard_material, & face_texture

I didn't want the hair mesh to show up, so I used a tiny 1-triangle mesh, "onepoly."

header_troops:

Add the line,

tf_male               = 0
tf_female             = 1
tf_undead             = 2
tf_skeleton          = 3

module_troops:


Must have tf_skeleton:
  ["skeleton","Skeleton","skeleton",tf_skeleton|tf_guarantee_armor,0,0,fac_undeads,[itm_skeleton_armor...etc.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2007, 01:29:15 PM by Cartread »

Offline Ahadhran

  • Mysterious Old Man
  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #15 on: July 18, 2007, 02:45:19 PM »
Ah, I was wondering what it was that caused the problem, thats good to know.

undead_face_keys is probably just unsupported and buggy since armagan has abandoned the undead thing. The hair,  and beard thing must have been what was causing my crashes. Now I can let people people become skeletons and undead in darkmod...

Elpolodiablo

  • Guest
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #16 on: July 18, 2007, 11:48:24 PM »
What program are you using?

I was just using notepad.

Offline Cartread

  • Craftsman
  • **
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #17 on: July 19, 2007, 02:42:57 PM »
What program are you using?

I was just using notepad.

The module_system armagan uses for mods, which compiles the .txt files:
http://forums.taleworlds.net/index.php/board,12.0.html

Check all around this and the TaleWorlds forums, there are a lot of modding tools, tutorials, etc.

thethunderer

  • Guest
Re: Skeletal Horse
« Reply #18 on: August 27, 2009, 11:31:50 PM »
Nice!! You don't mind if I use them for my World of Warcraft mod, do you?

And how do you put it in without using Module System because something's wrong with my Module System. I can't use it at all. It says python isnt a batch file and some stuffover and over again. If anyone can tell me how to solve this problem, then yay, I can use this! And is this for all faces or for undead only?
« Last Edit: August 27, 2009, 11:51:42 PM by thethunderer »