login

Author Topic: Finding out who destroyed who  (Read 2988 times)

Cirdan

Finding out who destroyed who
« on: January 26, 2007, 10:13:23 am »
Would it be possible to find out, not only when a party has been destroyed (whether by the player or an NPC party), but by whom the party was destroyed, and where it was destroyed, stocking the info for later use in a script (spawning a new party and making it track down the culprits...for instance)? and if so, could somebody give me pointers on how to go about doing this, given that i am a Python newbie?

Offline Hellequin

• Journeyman
    • View Profile
Re: Finding out who destroyed who
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2007, 10:57:02 am »
Yes, it should be quite possible.  All of the logic involved is accessible to you, it's just a matter of finding where in the sequence to insert your assignment statements to keep track of things.  The first thing you need to be aware of is that it'll be quite a different procedure for tracking this for combats where the player isn't involved, from ones where the player is involved.

When the player isn't involved, the logic is in module_simple_triggers.py, the second big trigger structure labeled "simulate battle".  Partway down it's got the logic for whether to consider the battle won or not, and by whom.  Put a call there to your script that stores whodunnit, who died, and where (see notes on this below).

When the player is involved, the encounter logic will be in the relevant menu - simple_encounter in many cases but not all, depending on what else you've done with your mod.  Once again you want to find the point in the logic where it makes the determination of who won, and insert your call there.