login

Author Topic: TLD 3.3 FAQ & Ask any other questions here! DON'T START A NEW TOPIC. ASK HERE!  (Read 1201117 times)

Offline Sirg

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
jonathanimal, yes, I know about this trick with reinforcement, but player cannot reinforce besiegers if their parties have maximum soldiers.

Offline FleshyStarfish

  • Guildsman
  • ****
  • Posts: 463
    • View Profile
jonathanimal, yes, I know about this trick with reinforcement, but player cannot reinforce besiegers if their parties have maximum soldiers.

Just lure an enemy party close by.  This always works and (a) costs no resource points and (b) gives you the option to save the leader thereby giving you even more influence (or you can let the leader run).  Whenever I see this, I typically use teleport.  I see this as an AI issue, so in order to fix it I bend the rules a bit.

FS
hay wud up guys u shud mak a mod about lyk stuff i dunno wut but it wuld b kool lyk mabe gangstas were u start ur gang n fite mofos huh
http://forums.taleworlds.net/index.php/topic,50345.msg1300951.html#msg130

Offline Sirg

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Just lure an enemy party close by.
There are not any enemy on the map - Karas Galadon is the last standing bastion of the light (I play for evil) :) .
Khm, I'm playing for dwarves now, and there aren't such problems with light factions. Oh nope, actually, there IS: King Thranduil has besieged Morannon(!) in quite the same conditions with same results. But I gave him reinforcement - 140 soldiers for him and for every of his general (they didn't have maximum troops). Morannon was captured and destroyed after that (there were battle ~750 elves against ~1000 orcs of Morannon). So I've not seen any Mordor Legions - Mordor was defeated after destruction of Morannon.
Other evil factions were defeated without any problem (Isengard collapsed after defeating of Saruman's Legion).
« Last Edit: April 03, 2013, 02:31:46 pm by Sirg »

Offline FleshyStarfish

  • Guildsman
  • ****
  • Posts: 463
    • View Profile
Just lure an enemy party close by.
There are not any enemy on the map - Karas Galadon is the last standing bastion of the light (I play for evil) :) .
Khm, I'm playing for dwarves now, and there aren't such problems with light factions. Oh nope, actually, there IS: King Thranduil has besieged Morannon(!) in quite the same conditions with same results. But I gave him reinforcement - 140 soldiers for him and for every of his general (they didn't have maximum troops). Morannon was captured and destroyed after that (there were battle ~750 elves against ~1000 orcs of Morannon). So I've not seen any Mordor Legions - Mordor was defeated after destruction of Morannon.
Other evil factions were defeated without any problem (Isengard collapsed after defeating of Saruman's Legion).

I think in order to get the Mordor Legions you have to destroy them in the last part (i.e. destroy all other factions before them).  Did you destroy all factions, including minor factions before Mordor?

FS
hay wud up guys u shud mak a mod about lyk stuff i dunno wut but it wuld b kool lyk mabe gangstas were u start ur gang n fite mofos huh
http://forums.taleworlds.net/index.php/topic,50345.msg1300951.html#msg130

Offline Sirg

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
FleshyStarfish, Thranduil has started siege of Morannon before destruction of Harad and Rhun (strength of Mordor was about ~4000 at this moment). But all other evil settlements were destroyed very soon by other light factions. Moronnan was the last remaining dark settlement after that (strength of Mordor was about ~2800 then, and it has frozen at this point) - therefore, the one remaining way to win the game, was to assault Morannon.
But..., I think that siege and destruction of Morannon is the much better way to win Mordor, than to defeat some khm... unarticulated (again, sorry for my English :)) Legions. It's just my opinion though...
Or, Legions should appear at higher values of faction's strength (it concerns Isengard more then Mordor though).
« Last Edit: April 04, 2013, 07:18:35 am by Sirg »

Offline salzi

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Hello,
i just managed to get Mount and Blade + Mod running on my mac (played it some while ago through bootcamp).

Now since I have to start from the beginning I'm not very motivated to grind influence to get a few companions. Does anyone know a way around this? I tried the minimod, but it gives my some error messages when i talk to someone (I guess it only works with older versions)
So can anyone help me with this issue? I know it's probably considered cheating, but grinding influence is such a drag early game.

Offline Sirg

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
salzi,
find following string in the "scripts.txt" (it's under "increase_rank -1"):
"36 21 1 1224979098644774912 22 1 1224979098644774913 4 0 33 3 1224979098644774912 3 21 2147483679 2 1224979098644774913 0 1 2 936748722493063183 1224979098644774912 2133 2 1224979098644774914 72057594037927936 522 3 1224979098644774915 1224979098644774912 71 2105 2 1224979098644774915 1224979098644774913 30 2 1224979098644774915 0 502 3 1224979098644774912 71 1224979098644774915 1 2 936748722493063183 1224979098644774912 2133 2 1224979098644774916 72057594037927936 522 3 1224979098644774915 1224979098644774912 70 2120 3 1224979098644774917 1224979098644774913 4 2108 2 1224979098644774917 8 2105 2 1224979098644774915 1224979098644774917 502 3 1224979098644774912 70 1224979098644774915 2335 2 11 1224979098644774912 2133 2 72057594037927947 1224979098644774913 2133 2 72057594037927948 1224979098644774917 2133 2 72057594037927937 1 2133 2 1224979098644774918 5308240 4 0 2147483678 2 72057594037927947 0 2113 1 72057594037927947 2113 1 72057594037927948 2133 2 72057594037927937 0 2133 2 1224979098644774918 16732240 3 0 1106 2 1585267068834414690 1224979098644774918 4 0 2147483679 2 1224979098644774914 1224979098644774916 1 4 936748722493063181 1224979098644774912 1224979098644774916 72057594037927937 3 0 3 0"

and replace it with that:
"37 21 1 1224979098644774912 22 1 1224979098644774913 4 0 33 3 1224979098644774912 3 21 2147483679 2 1224979098644774913 0 1 2 936748722493063183 1224979098644774912 2133 2 1224979098644774914 72057594037927936 522 3 1224979098644774915 1224979098644774912 71 2107 2 1224979098644774913 2 2105 2 1224979098644774915 1224979098644774913 30 2 1224979098644774915 0 502 3 1224979098644774912 71 1224979098644774915 1 2 936748722493063183 1224979098644774912 2133 2 1224979098644774916 72057594037927936 522 3 1224979098644774915 1224979098644774912 70 2120 3 1224979098644774917 1224979098644774913 4 2108 2 1224979098644774917 8 2105 2 1224979098644774915 1224979098644774917 502 3 1224979098644774912 70 1224979098644774915 2335 2 11 1224979098644774912 2133 2 72057594037927947 1224979098644774913 2133 2 72057594037927948 1224979098644774917 2133 2 72057594037927937 1 2133 2 1224979098644774918 5308240 4 0 2147483678 2 72057594037927947 0 2113 1 72057594037927947 2113 1 72057594037927948 2133 2 72057594037927937 0 2133 2 1224979098644774918 16732240 3 0 1106 2 1585267068834414690 1224979098644774918 4 0 2147483679 2 1224979098644774914 1224979098644774916 1 4 936748722493063181 1224979098644774912 1224979098644774916 72057594037927937 3 0 3 0"

"2" is the multiplier of rank and influence points from quests and battles (you will gain up to 2 times more influence and rank after each quest and battle than in original game). If you set it "1", it will be identically to the original game. Of cause, you can set it higher than "2".
For example, if you set the multiplier "10", you will gain up to ten times more influence and rank after each quest and battle. But it will not be interesting game - "too much love will kill you" :green:.

New game is not needed.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2013, 06:49:36 am by Sirg »

Offline salzi

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Thanks for the advice, but i guess this is also for an older version. I only have the following string:
increase_rank -1
 36 21 1 1224979098644774912 22 1 1224979098644774913 4 0 33 3 1224979098644774912 3 21 2147483679 2 1224979098644774913 0 1 2 936748722493063183 1224979098644774912 2133 2 1224979098644774914 72057594037927936 522 3 1224979098644774915 1224979098644774912 71 2105 2 1224979098644774915 here should be the 1 if i understood eveything correct 1224979098644774913 30 2 1224979098644774915 0 502 3 1224979098644774912 71 1224979098644774915 1 2 936748722493063183 1224979098644774912 2133 2 1224979098644774916 72057594037927936 522 3 1224979098644774915 1224979098644774912 70 2120 3 1224979098644774917 1224979098644774913 4 2108 2 1224979098644774917 8 2105 2 1224979098644774915 1224979098644774917 502 3 1224979098644774912 70 1224979098644774915 2335 2 11 1224979098644774912 2133 2 72057594037927947 1224979098644774913 2133 2 72057594037927948 1224979098644774917 2133 2 72057594037927937 1 2133 2 1224979098644774918 5308240 4 0 2147483678 2 72057594037927947 0 2113 1 72057594037927947 2113 1 72057594037927948 2133 2 72057594037927937 0 2133 2 1224979098644774918 16732240 3 0 1106 2 1585267068834414690 1224979098644774918 4 0 2147483679 2 1224979098644774914 1224979098644774916 1 4 936748722493063181 1224979098644774912 1224979098644774916 72057594037927937 3 0 3 0

Offline Sirg

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
salzi,
you have misunderstood me. You just find the upper string from my post in the "scripts.txt", and replace it to lower string from my post.
Rank and influence points will be increased twice after that (because of multiplier "2" in the lower string from my post). You can tune the amount of rank and influence points from quests/battles with this multiplier. For example, you may set it "3" (or even higher) to increase the rank/influence points in the 3 times. Of cause, you may set it "1" - rank/influence points will not be increased then, so it will be just like in original game.
Of cause, this multiplier is absent in the original version of "scripts.txt" - it will be added after replacing the strings.
This tweak works fine in TLD 3.22/3.23 - I've made it for myself with open source code.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2013, 01:37:58 pm by Sirg »

Offline Russian Guy

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Silly question but is there no way to see Barad-Dur in the game?

Nope.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2013, 02:37:34 am by Merlkir »

Offline Shingen

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Has anyone made a troop tree for each faction yet?

Offline Sirg

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Has anyone made a troop tree for each faction yet?
Open the file "...\Mount and Blade\Modules\TLD\TLD_trooptree.htm" ;).

Offline azile0

  • Craftsman
  • **
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
What kind of graphics enhancing mods are compatible with TLD? I don't want to overwrite something important.

Most likely none, except for the female mesh one.

In 3.20+ Those are already ingame. :)
« Last Edit: April 22, 2013, 01:46:09 pm by CppCoder »

Offline Dooz

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Is there any way to remove a quest from the log after it has become impossible to complete? Namely, the Thain of Westfold asked me to bring him some metal scraps. Westfold was razed and lay in ruins before I could do so. Now the quest sits there in my log, and not only does it wreak havoc on my ocd-addled brain, but I imagine it will make it impossible for other "deliver metal scraps" quests to become activated since this one still is. And I guess the quest time limits don't work, because it's been quite a while after the written expiration date and it's still there. Any possibility of removing it through other means?
This sort of thing was being worked on. In future versions it should be fixed, but as for now I don't think so.

Oo, also a couple of other question while I'm here if I may. Does zooming in and out with +/- definitely not work, or am I doing something wrong? And is RCM by any chance incorporated in 3.23, and if not is the one that says it's for 3.1 compatible with the latest TLD? Thanks!
No, it isn't included by default. Vota dc balanced the items stats, so RCM isn't needed as badly as it was before. I'd recommend to give it a try without RCM first and then getting RCM if you don't like how it plays out.

+/- works IIRC, so you probably aren't doing it right.


-edit-
Looks like I got the save game corruption, game won't load. Tried the backup save rename, didn't work. Crazy game breaker, not to mention heart breaker, this bug. Does everyone get it eventually? I'm on day 238 or so. How can anyone get invested into a full long game when this is looming? Though one could say the same about life.... but still, that's why we play these games to forget about all that!
Remember, you can change the max party count under camp->tld options->gameplay tweaks->compatibilty tweaks. If you are experiencing save crashes often decrease the number a little. I've personally beat the game on my notebook laptop with ~850 parties max.


 :(

If anyone does have answer to the question though, I'd love to hear them. I might pick up from an earlier save I luckily have and would still like to get rid of that stuck quest.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2013, 06:46:02 pm by CppCoder »

Offline Dooz

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Thanks!

Ah, so not even a work around sort of way outside of the game itself? Like editing a file here or there or whatnot?

I've been playing without RCM and enjoying it, I wasn't gonna switch mid way through, more just curious. Happy to hear it's been balanced!

I can't imagine what's going on with the zooming not working... I've been trying it on the numpad (checked numlock), which works in Warband, but maybe I should use the other ones if I haven't already tried that.

I came upon the party count suggestion when searching about the save game bug, and I lowered it from 850 to 800 after picking up the save I had which was 20 days or so before the crash, but a crucial 20 days where an allied hero had died which would have given me the opportunity to erase the Oathbreaker trait, and I had gained a positive trait at that point as well. The crash was at day 238, I've now made it back to 237 so far without problems. Keeping more backup saves that I confirm work, just in case. Hopefully 238 isn't a magic number.  :o

Thanks again!
« Last Edit: April 22, 2013, 11:22:52 pm by Dooz »